World Championship Primer

2022-07-26 | Ian Nowakowski

RLCS_Worlds_Primer.jpg

We're just days away from kicking off the Rocket League World Championship in Fort Worth, Texas. It'll be the first time we crown a World Champion in nearly three years. It's also the biggest Rocket League Championship Series (RLCS) tournament to date with 10 total days of competition. As you can imagine, there's a lot of information to cover, so let's get right into it!

What Is the Rocket League World Championship?

The World Championship is the pinnacle of competitive Rocket League and the crowning achievement of every RLCS season. For the RLCS 2021-22 Season, players have competed for nearly an entire year to get a shot at becoming World Champions.

The World Championship is divided into two distinct phases. The first is the Wildcard Stage (August 4-7), where 16 teams from around the world will compete to punch their tickets to the Main Event. The Main Event (August 9-14) is the final leg of the World Championship, where eight teams that qualify via the Wildcard will join eight auto-qualified teams. Those 16 teams will compete in a Double-Elimination Group Stage, and the top eight teams will advance to the final Single-Elimination Bracket. The winner will be crowned World Champions!

Welcome Back Ford, Mobil1, and Verizon!

We're thrilled to welcome Ford, Mobil1™, and Verizon back as the Official Sponsors of the Rocket League World Championship! As valued sponsors throughout the RLCS 2021-22 Season, we're happy to have them on board for Rocket League's biggest live event yet!

Qualified Teams

The best 24 Rocket League teams in the world competed over the course of the season to qualify for the World Championship. You can find the 16 Wildcard teams and eight auto-qualified Main Event teams below:

FXpOmIlVsAAx9IU.jpg

Wildcard Teams

Asia-Pacific

  • Gladiators
  • Tokyo Verdy Esports

Europe

  • Dignitas
  • Karmine Corp
  • SMPR Esports

Middle East & North Africa

  • Veloce Esports
  • 01 Esports

North America

  • OpTic Gaming
  • Spacestation Gaming
  • Version1

Oceania

  • Pioneers
  • Renegades

South America

  • Team Secret
  • The Club

Sub-Saharan Africa

  • Bravado Gaming
  • Orlando Pirates

Main Event Teams

Europe

  • Endpoint
  • Moist Esports
  • Team BDS

Middle East & North Africa

  • Team Falcons

North America

  • FaZe Clan
  • G2 Esports
  • NRG

South America

  • FURIA

Format, Broadcast, & Schedule

The World Championship Wildcard will see 16 teams battle through a Swiss Stage to qualify for the World Championship Main Event. In the Swiss Stage, it's win three times and qualify, or lose three times and you're eliminated. Competing teams will always play another team with the same win-loss record as their own.

For the World Championship Main Event, 16 teams will compete in two, eight-team, Double-Elimination Groups. Win twice and advance, lose twice and you're eliminated. Four teams from each group (eight total teams) will advance to the final eight-team, Single-Elimination Bracket. The team that emerges victorious from that bracket will be crowned World Champions!

The Wildcard will last four days and take place at the Pavilion in the Dickies Arena Simmons Bank Plaza on August 4-7, and the Main Event will last six days and take place from August 9-14. The first three days of the Main Event will be at the Pavilion in the Dickies Arena Simmons Bank Plaza, and the final three days of the Main Event will take place at Dickies Arena. 

During the World Championship, there will be a main stream on the Rocket League Twitch channel and the Rocket League Esports YouTube channel and an alternate stream on the Rocket League Esports Twitch channel and Rocket League Esports YouTube channel. To see where you can catch all the action, check out the schedule below:

Wildcard

August 4 - Swiss Stage, Round 1

Main Stream

  • Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • Match #3: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • Match #5: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • Match #7: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

Alternate Stream

  • Match #2: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • Match #4: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • Match #6: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • Match #8: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

August 5 - Swiss Stage, Round 2

Main Stream

  • 1-0, Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • 1-0, Match #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • 1-0, Match #3: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • 1-0, Match #4: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

Alternate Stream

  • 0-1, Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • 0-1, Match #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • 0-1, Match #3: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • 0-1, Match #4: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

August 6 - Swiss Stage, Round 3

Main Stream

  • 2-0, Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • 2-0, Match #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • 0-2, Match #1: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • 0-2, Match #2: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

Alternate Stream

  • 1-1, Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • 1-1, Match #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • 1-1, Match #3: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • 1-1, Match #4: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

August 7 - Swiss Stage, Rounds 4 & 5

Main Stream

  • 1-2, Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • 1-2, Match #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • 1-2, Match #3: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • 2-2, Match #1: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)
  • 2-2, Match #2: 3 p.m. CT (1 p.m. PT/8 p.m. UTC)
  • 2-2, Match #3: 4 p.m. CT (2 p.m. PT/9 p.m. UTC)

Alternate Stream

  • 2-1, Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • 2-1, Match #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • 2-1, Match #3: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)

Main Event

August 9 - Group Stage, Group A

Main Stream

  • Group A, Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • Group A, Match #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • Group A, Match #3: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • Group A, Match #4: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

August 10 - Group Stage, Group B

Main Stream

  • Group B, Match #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Match #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Match #3: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Match #4: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

August 11 - Group Stage, Upper Semifinals

Main Stream

  • Group A, Upper Semifinal #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • Group A, Upper Semifinal #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Upper Semifinal #1: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Upper Semifinal #2: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

August 12 - Group Stage, Lower Round 1

Main Stream

  • Group A, Lower Round 1 #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • Group A, Lower Round 1 #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Lower Round 1 #1: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Lower Round 1 #2: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

August 13 - Group Stage, Last Chance

Main Stream

  • Group A, Last Chance #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • Group A, Last Chance #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Last Chance #1: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • Group B, Last Chance #2: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)

August 14 - Championship Sunday Bracket

Main Stream

  • Quarterfinal #1: 11 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT/4 p.m. UTC)
  • Quarterfinal #2: 12  p.m. CT (10 a.m. PT/5 p.m. UTC)
  • Quarterfinal #3: 1 p.m. CT (11 a.m. PT/6 p.m. UTC)
  • Quarterfinal #4: 2 p.m. CT (12 p.m. PT/7 p.m. UTC)
  • Semifinal #1: 3 p.m. CT (1 p.m. PT/8 p.m. UTC)
  • Semifinal #2: 4 p.m. CT (2 p.m. PT/9 p.m. UTC)
  • Grand Finals: 5 p.m. CT (3 p.m. PT/10 p.m. UTC)

Time to Crown a Champion!

We're just getting started with World Championship content and coverage. Keep it locked to @RLEsports on Twitter and Instagram to keep up with all the action. We'll see you on game day!