RLCS Winter Major Primer

2022-03-17 | Ian Nowakowski

RLCS_Winter_Major_KEYART_05.jpg

We're only one week away from kicking off the RLCS Winter Major! 16 of the best Rocket League teams in the world are set to hit the pitch and see who will rise up as RLCS Winter Major champions. We've got a bunch of information to go over to get you ready to watch all the action starting next week, so let's dive in!

What Is The RLCS Winter Major?

The RLCS Winter Major is the largest tournament of the Winter Split. It's an international LAN event that will be held in sunny Los Angeles, California. Here are some quick-hit information points about the RLCS Winter Major:

  • The event will run from March 23-27
  • 16 of the top teams from around the world will compete
  • From March 23-25, the event will take place at the FaceIt Studio without a live crowd
  • From March 26-27, the event will take place at the YouTube Theater with a live crowd

The RLCS Winter Major is the first LAN event since the Season 8 World Championship to feature a live crowd. For more information about what to expect if you're attending, keep a lookout for our on-site guide soon.

Qualified Teams

After two months of competition, 16 of the best teams in the world have booked their spots at the RLCS Winter Major. Check them out below:

Asia-Pacific

  • Detonator

Europe

  • Dignitas
  • Endpoint
  • Evil Geniuses
  • Team BDS
  • Team Queso

Middle East & North Africa

  • Sandrock Gaming

North America

  • FaZe Clan
  • G2 Esports
  • NRG
  • Spacestation Gaming
  • Version1

Oceania

  • Pioneers
  • Renegades

South America

  • FURIA
  • Team Secret

Format, Broadcast, and Schedule

The RLCS Winter Major will mirror the Winter Split format. That means the Winter Major will have four groups of four teams that play in Round-Robin matches within their group. Teams that finish first in their group will be seeded into the Upper Bracket, teams that finish second and third will be seeded into the Lower Bracket, and teams that finish fourth will be eliminated. The 12 remaining teams will battle their way through a Modified Double-Elimination Playoff Bracket to see who will be crowned RLCS Winter Major Champions!

The broadcast will run for five total days (March 23-27). From March 23-25 there will be a main stream on the Rocket League Twitch channel and Rocket League Esports YouTube channel, and an alternate stream on the RLEsports Twitch Channel so that every match will be broadcasted throughout the Group Stage and Lower Round 1 of the Playoff Bracket. During March 26-27, the broadcast will have one main stream and cover the remainder of the Playoff Bracket. Check out the schedule below:

March 23 - Group Stage

Main Stream:

  • FaZe Clan vs. Version1: 10 a.m. PT (5 p.m. UTC)
  • FaZe Clan vs. Detonator: 11 a.m. PT (6 p.m. UTC)
  • Endpoint vs. Renegades: 12 p.m. PT (7 p.m. UTC)
  • Team BDS vs. Team Secret: 1 p.m. PT (8 p.m. UTC)
  • Team BDS vs. Evil Geniuses: 2 p.m. PT (9 p.m. UTC)
  • Dignitas vs. Spacestation: 3 p.m. PT (10 p.m. UTC)

Alternate Stream:

  • Team Queso vs. Detonator: 10 a.m. PT (5 p.m. UTC)
  • Team Queso vs. Version1: 11 a.m. PT (6 p.m. UTC)
  • NRG vs. FURIA: 12 p.m. PT (7 p.m. UTC)
  • G2 Esports vs. Evil Geniuses: 1 p.m. PT (8 p.m. UTC)
  • G2 Esports vs. Team Secret: 2 p.m. PT (9 p.m. UTC)

March 24 - Group Stage (Continued)

Main Stream:

  • Dignitas vs. Pioneers: 10 a.m. PT (5 p.m. UTC)
  • Pioneers vs. Spacestation: 11 a.m. PT (6 p.m. UTC)
  • Endpoint vs. FURIA: 12 p.m. PT (7 p.m. UTC)
  • NRG vs. Endpoint: 1 p.m. PT (8 p.m. UTC)
  • Team Queso vs. FaZe Clan: 2 p.m. PT (9 p.m. UTC)
  • G2 Esports vs. Team BDS: 3 p.m. PT (10 p.m. UTC)

Alternate Stream:

  • NRG vs. Renegades: 12 p.m. PT (7 p.m. UTC)
  • Renegades vs. FURIA: 1 p.m. PT (8 p.m. UTC)
  • Version1 vs. Detonator: 2 p.m. PT (9 p.m. UTC)
  • Team Secret vs. Evil Geniuses: 3 p.m. PT (10 p.m. UTC)

March 25 - Tiebreakers (If Needed) & Lower Round 1

Main Stream:

  • Tiebreaker (If Needed): 10 a.m. PT (5 p.m. UTC)
  • Tiebreaker (If Needed): 11 a.m. PT (6 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Round 1, Match 1: 12 p.m. PT (7 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Round 1, Match 2: 1 p.m. PT (8 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Round 1, Match 3: 2 p.m. PT (9 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Round 1, Match 4: 3 p.m. PT (10 p.m. UTC)

Alternate Stream

  • Tiebreakers (If Needed) begin at 10 a.m. PT (5 p.m. UTC)

March 26 - Playoff Bracket

Main Stream:

  • Lower Round 2, Match 1: 10 a.m. PT (5 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Round 2, Match 2: 11 a.m. PT (6 p.m. UTC)
  • Upper Semifinals, Match 1: 12 p.m. PT (7 p.m. UTC)
  • Upper Semifinals, Match 2: 1 p.m. PT (8 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Quarterfinals, Match 1: 2 p.m. PT (9 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Quarterfinals, Match 2: 3 p.m. PT (10 p.m. UTC)

March 27 - Championship Sunday

Main Stream: 

  • Upper Finals: 10 a.m. PT (5 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Semifinals: 11 a.m. PT (6 p.m. UTC)
  • Lower Finals: 12 p.m. PT (7 p.m. UTC)
  • Grand Finals: 1 p.m. PT (8 p.m. UTC)
  • Grand Finals, Bracket Reset (If Needed): 2 p.m. PT (9 p.m. UTC)

If English isn't your first language, check out the alternate language streams that'll be bringing you all the action:

More to Come

We're thrilled to be bringing live Rocket League back with crowds. We've missed hearing all the cheering and hype. There's tons more info on the way, so make sure to keep it locked to @RLEsports on Twitter and Instagram to stay up to speed. See you in LA.